I love Sundays in La Candelaria! It is probably the only day of the week that is free of a lot of noise and tranquility abounds. I’ve been a bit out of sync with my photo uploading lately and think that I will work on some of that today but really wanted to get a new post in since I’ve been a bit neglectful of this blog lately. I’m also trying to catch up on the blogs I read (it seems an endless task) but looking at the lovely pictures of wedding cakes on The Inspired Bride makes me want to get married during this season of beautiful weddings! All the lovely cakes are made by Brooklyn-based company, Nine Cakes and are gorgeous! Here is my favorite design:

Such and Such Cake by Nine Cakes for BAM event for Brooklyn Brides

Isn’t that a gorgeous cake? I photographed a cake at one of my best friend’s birthdays made by one of our neighbors here in La Candelaria and I think it is one of the prettiest cakes I’ve seen. Our neighbor’s name is Ana Moreno and she’s been making cakes for quite a while now. Here’s one of the shots I took of the cake:

You can see the rest of the photos on Ana’s facebook page: Marianna’s Cakes. I haven’t taken as many photos as I probably would wish to lately but I have taken some that I think are pretty good. Here is one of my favorites from one morning here in La Candelaria:

Another favorite is from a new series I’m working on, churches in Caracas, here is the bell tower from the church in La Plaza Candelaria:

Photographing daily life and architecture is so pleasant a hobby for me. Here is another… the Bicentinnial Celebration of the signing of the Venezuelan Declaration of Independence’s emblem for 2010:

Another of my favorites, Venezuelan cafe con leche from a little coffee stand:

And lastly a photo I took yesterday at Venezuela’s famous German-colony and tourist spot La Colonia Tovar:

What do you think? I sure would love to know what everyone thinks of these photos! Don’t be shy and leave a comment! Let me know which is your favorite. Let me know what more you would like to see. I am all ears!

Have a happy week!

