First let me begin by saying that this post is dedicate to Kiki Smith of the blog Kiki Nakita which I have mentioned on here before. A few weeks ago in response to one of my last posts, Kiki asked me to take photos of markets here and publish them in the blog so I thought what better way to show what comes here locally than writing about it for Earth Day? In the spirit of sustainable living there is no better way to shop than to shop locally. During our short stay in Princeton, NJ my parents and I were able to do a little local shopping and as a result of that I bought a bag at Terhune Orchards which I used today while shopping at the market with my grandmother and father.

Every Thursday is market day here in La Candelaria and while in the US we have a strong campaign going on for buying locally, here in Caracas most of the produce comes from local farms in the surrounding area and has always been thus. There are, of course, certain things such as apples which often come from the US or Chile which are also sold at the market but most of the produce is local and fresh which makes it more appealing. Here are just a few snapshots of the market in La Candelaria:

My grandmother and others shopping for eggs…
Beautiful fresh brown eggs…
Egg stand and other stands beyond…
Meat & Cheese stand + Veggie stand across the street…
Another stand with fruits and veggies + motorcycle to boot…
Folks doing their shopping in the morning…
Ahhhhhh…limes…limones!
Fresh papaya…
One of the many vendors with his crates and sacks full of goodies…
Pineapples…
Lady shopping and lots of goodies…
Hand-written price list at one of the stands…
Fresh sausages and cheese…
A vendor talking to a customer…
I bought some of the red grapes…
My Dad buying the grapes…juicy!!

So, remember, a sustainable life on earth also depends upon a sustainable economy and what better way to contribute to the sustainability of your own country than by buying locally grown and produced foods? Happy Earth Day!
Cheers!

