I love google! Whenever I want to find things to buy, do or just get ideas I turn to google. You always find interesting things when you google a word or a phrase, and if you’re like me, you may get excited about the things you find even if they have nothing to do with what you were actually looking for! So, this morning I googled the following phrase: “make your own woodland backdrop for toys” and I got a whole list of things that do not necessarily have anything to do with that subject and some similar. You see, my niece has a ton of small Disney princess figurines and I wanted to make a few backdrops with some left over cardboard pieces I have lying around from packaging and such so I thought why not look online for some ideas?  

Of course, googling this phrase brought me to a ton of things that could be useful in creating such backdrops for her playing pleasure but I was looking for something more immediate! Still I wish I had these to use:  

Wooden Forest Tree Set from Cheekeyes

 

I would love to be able to have a few and paint them as part of the woodland/princess theme I want to use. That was the first thing google brought me to that called my attention. The trees are from Cheekeyes and the online store selling them is called Oompa, they have so many cute and lovely things for babies, children and even parents! The best thing about it is that they have great eco-friendly stuff! I am going to have to bookmark this store, I am already getting more ideas as I type!  

The next link on the google list that caught my eye was Felt Wee Folk Book-Blueberry Forest Toys.  It’s for a book by Salley Mavor called Felt Wee Folk: Enchanting Projects and I think I may have to get it for future gift making projects! The little dolls are so very cute! Just have a look:  

Wee Folk Dolls by Salley Mavor

Aren’t they adorable? I would love to be able to make some for my nieces and nephew! The book even teaches you to make scenic backdrops! Unfortunately, being that I wanted to make something immediately it doesn’t help me on my current quest but is great for future reference.  

    

Blueberry Forest Toys is also a great online shop for natural and ecofriendly toys and treasures! Great for bookmarking! I love their motto: “Where child’s play is magical!” I’m loving their line of St. Patrick’s Day dolls and things! My favorites are :  

Kathe Kruse Mini It's Me Lucky Shamrock Doll
Kathe Kruse Mini It’s Me Lucky Shamrock Doll

and  

Brown Bag Irish Lace Shortbread Pan

 

Aren’t they fantastic? A bit pricey but well worth having, I think! Time to bookmark this site as well! ☺  

I finally found some inspiration in a website called The Long Thread in which I found a tutorial cleverly marked under “Make It Monday”–Woodland Felt Scene. It gives me a bit of an idea of what to include in my own woodland scene for Alyssa’s toys. It was originally made for a birthday party but it shows some of the elements that I might want to include in a woodland scene backdrop for the princess dolls. I just wish I had my books! Here is the project made by Ellen and posted on the site:  

Woodland Felt Scene by Ellen of thelongthread.com

 

 Well, I think that for now that is all I am going to look through and share! I’ve got to make some lunch and play some more with my nieces! Hopefully tomorrow I will work on my backdrops and will share the turotial with everyone on Mes Petites Creations! Look for an update tomorrow! 

 

Cheers!

