This morning I woke up thinking of how I am no longer in the City and wishing I were back there though I am glad to see my nieces. I spent the day with Gianna while Alyssa was at school, Tiff at work and David went out to work as well. She mostly slept and ate but we did have a few laughs together. Got a great big smile from her when I was singing her a lullaby called “Gute Nacht Mein Feines Lieb.” It’s a German folksong that I know from when I studied vocal performance in Miami. The version we learned was set to a tune composed by Brahms. I’m not quite certain what the arrangement was but I do remember the tune and the lyrics are as follows:

Gute Nacht gute Nacht mein feines Lieb
gute Nacht schlaf wohl mein Kind
Gute Nacht gute Nacht mein feines Lieb
gute Nacht schlaf wohl mein Kind
daß dich die Engel hüten all
die in dem schönen Himmel sind

Gute Nacht gute Nacht mein feines Lieb
schlaf wohl in Nächten lind”

Gianna seemed to really enjoy hearing that! It was a very quiet day. I came back from NYC yesterday. I left JFK Airport at around 8:30pm and arrived around 9:40pm. I miss it already. It has always been my dream to live there and I still want to see that happen. As I was thinking about this dream and what best expresses how I feel about living in NY I remembered one of my favorite songs of all time:

I believe it truly embodies my life in general! I know that I am going to make it in NY and that it will not be long now before I go back. I took several photos yesterday before leaving and had a blast getting to know different parts of Manhattan that I was not so familiar with before. I wish I’d had more time to do more sightseeing but when I move there I will have plenty of time to do that! I walked a bit down Bleecker Street and found lots of really fun places to shop and small cafes. I also went to a restaurant called Gobo which was to die for! I met a friend and his cousin there, at the one in the West Village (on 6th and 8th): http://www.goborestaurant.com/west/index.htm. Check the site out! It’s a vegetarian restaurant but the food is delicious! I enjoyed taking a walk yesterday through Union Square, Madison Square Park, the High Line, the West Village and parts of Chelsea. I think of all the places I saw this past weekend my favorite areas were Meatpackers and Lower Manhattan (West Village side).  Check these few pics out:

Those are all from Monday! You can see more on my flickr page. So, I really hope that my dreams do come true and my prayer is that by February I will be in NYC! I hope you all enjoy the photos!

Cheers!

