On Sunday, October 18th I went to New York City after having been away for 10 years (not by choice but by circumstance). It was so exciting to be there again! I love Manhattan for many reasons but one of the things I love most about it is its architectural landscape. There are so many interesting buildings and monuments in that city. I would like to share some of the photographs I took with you in this post. Such a bustling city deserves to be written about, photographed and raved about by whomever has had the privilege of going there or living there. I have seen so many books written about Manhattan and I am making a list of the ones I would like to have for my collection.
My favorite building in Manhattan is the Flat Iron building (orginilally called the Fuller Building). The building was considered to be one of the first skyscrapers  ever built. It’s located at 175 Fifth Avenue. The building was designed by Daniel Burnham and the neighborhood surrounding it is named for the building. Of this amazing building it was said: “I found myself agape, admiring a skyscraper — the prow of the Flatiron Building, to be particular, ploughing up through the traffic of Broadway and Fifth Avenue in the late-afternoon light.” – H.G. Wells (1906).

I really enjoy the fact that the building does indeed look like a flat iron and it has been my favorite building in the city for quite some time. It was fun to see all the tourists photographing this iconic building. The day was cold, wet and windy but I was in my element and eager to be in the City that doesn’t sleep. I was able to meet up for coffee with a good friend I hadn’t seen in about 2 and a half years and got some good photos in while waiting for her and then afterward while walking toward Rockefeller Center. My parents and I went together by train from Princeton, NJ into NY Penn Station–it took 85minutes total and was very comfortable.

There were people all over the place that day! Our first stop, after having pizza at a Famiglia’s on 8th and Broadway, was Strand Books on 12th and Broadway. This place boasts 18 miles of books, as stated on their slogan, and is one of the most popular bookstores in Manhattan. A major purveyor of rare and used books for the city, this store is truly a gem in Greenwich Village and is a store that I remember from my childhood and somehow a visit to Manhattan never seems complete without going to Strand.

Not far from Strand is the famed Union Square which is where I was waiting for my friend who was getting out of the subway station there on her way to meet me. It was a fun walk to Union Square from Strand, very short and full of interesting buildings which I photographed. You can check out my all of the photos I took that day here: October in NYC (the good ones, that is). While I was waiting for my dear friend in Union Square I saw some folks holding signs with their arms wide open. Their posterboard signs said, “FREE HUGS” and I was watching as they approached people coming out of the subway station or walking by to give them a free hug. As I watched one of the guys started walking toward me and at the same time a girl was walking up so I met them halfway for a free hug! Altogether I received 4 free hugs while I waited for my friend.
 
The free hug crew, as I like to call them, were quite amusing! I asked one of the girls why exactly they were giving out these awesome hugs and she shrugged and then said, “Just to make the world a happier place.” I am all for love and happiness and giving of ourselves to others around us. It’s part of loving one another as we would love ourselves and that is a beautiful thing. After meeting with my friend and catching up for a couple of hours I met up with my parents for a brisk walk down 5th Avenue toward Rockefeller Center and saw some really great things along the way! A very cute pumpkin stand not far from the Flat Iron Building, a really cool wagon by the small market, a gold topped building and much more. All of these you can see following the link above!
 
Stay tuned for more posts about the Tri-State area!
 
Cheers,
 
Nadia Marie Perez

